Dropped kerbs in South Tyneside Council: fee, who builds it and how to apply
Everything you need to apply for a dropped kerb (vehicle crossing) with South Tyneside Council, from the council's own website. Last checked 4 October 2026.
South Tyneside: Apply for a dropped kerb
Who builds dropped kerbs in South Tyneside?
Vehicle crossings in South Tyneside can be built either by the council or by a private contractor working to the council's specification. In all cases you need permission from the Highways and Infrastructure department.
How much does a dropped kerb cost in South Tyneside?
Homeowner application fee: Not published. South Tyneside's pages don't publish an application fee. Ask the council before you apply.
Building it: South Tyneside doesn't publish a typical construction price. Councils that do publish prices quote roughly £1,000 to £3,500 for a standard crossing.
Estimate your total for South Tyneside with the calculator
Contractor requirements in South Tyneside
- Works to South Tyneside's specification
- Permission from Highways and Infrastructure first
How to check street works cards and insurance before you hire: our guide to dropped kerb contractors.
How to apply in South Tyneside
- Check whether you need planning permission (classified road, listed building, or not a single-family house).
- Contact the council (Highways and Infrastructure) to apply.
- Have the crossing built by the council or a private contractor to the council's specification.
Size and siting rules
- Parking area at least 4.8 metres long and 2.4 metres wide.
- Standard crossing 2.5 metres at the back of the footway and 5.4 metres at the kerb line.
Ready to apply in South Tyneside?
Check your property qualifies and have everything ready, then apply on the council's own website.
South Tyneside: Apply for a dropped kerb Eligibility checker Printable checklist
Nearby councils
- Sunderland City Council: Not published, not stated: ask
- Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council: £262.80 total council fees, not stated: ask
- North Tyneside Council: Not published, council or your contractor
Dropped kerb guides
Sources (official, checked 4 October 2026)